Tags

, , , , ,

After I wrote my post for Day 2 of Fall Bliss and receiving a comment about the quilt shown in that post, I realized I may have left out a small but significant detail about this one decoration. So the quilt…

The quilt is a precious heirloom!

My mother-in-law, Ida, made the quilt about 15 years ago. She is not longer with us as she passed away three years ago just before we moved into this home. But she left a wonderful legacy in her many quilts she made for my husband and I and our three children. Each child has two quilts given to them handmade by her. She did her own quilting on this masterpiece. A close up reveals the autumn leaves stitched lovingly by her hands.

The hand stitched leaves go all the way around the border of the quilt.

Here is another fall quilt hanging she did especially for the kids when they were little. She also sewed many of their Halloween costumes! I am saving some of those for our grandchildren to wear someday!

All hand appliqued!

I want to thank Sherry at No Minimalist Here for pointing out the quilt to me! Please visit her wonderful blog! You will not be dissappointed!

Happy graceful living!

