Tags

, , , , , ,

I made the most fantastic tasting cupcakes!

Raspberry Fluff Frosting

I actually got the recipe from a magazine in my eye doctor’s office. I had the receptionist make a copy for me and unfortunately the magazine title was not included on the page. I tweaked it a bit since I didn’t have any Oreo cookies in the house. However, I did have Peppermint Patties and decided to use them instead and I will tell you I don’t regret it!

Look at the Peppermint Patty waiting to be indulged!

Here is the recipe…

  • 1 Cup plus 2 tablespoons butter at room temperature
  • 1/2 Cup Unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 Cup all-purpose flour (leveled)
  • 1 Cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine salt
  • 1 large egg plus 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/2 Cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 12 cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies (I used Peppermint Patties)
  • 3 tablespoons seedless raspberry jam
  • 3 Cups marshmallow topping
  • 1/3 Cup confectioners’ sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 12 standard muffin cups (I got 18 out of this recipe) with paper liners. In large bowl, whisk together cocoa powder, flour, granulated sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Lightly beat egg and egg yolk and add 2 tablespoons of the butter, buttermilk, vanilla, and 1/2 cup of hot water; whisk until smooth.

Spoon 1 tablespoon batter into each muffin cup and top with cookie (Peppermint Patty). Top each with 1 tablespoon batter. Bake until cupcakes are puffed and set, 15 minutes (mine took 20 minutes), rotating pan halfway through (I didn’t rotate my pan). Let cupcakes cool in pan on a wire rack.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat 1 cup butter and raspberry jam on medium-high until smooth. Add marshmallow topping and confectioners’ sugar and beat until fluffy and smooth, 3 minutes. Transfer mixture to quart-size zip-top bag; with scissors, snip a small hole in one corner. Pipe frosting onto cooled cupcakes and serve immediately. (Store unfrosted cupcakes, in an airtight container, at room temperature, up to 2 days.)

Plated Cupcake

Happy graceful living!

 

 

