Tags

, , , , ,

I decided I would cook and bake with my daughter by my side this past Sunday. I wanted her to watch, help, and do in the kitchen with her mama just like her grandma Ida (my wonderful mother-in-law) had taught me. My girl wanted to make potato salad and I wanted to get baking something with those fresh apples and raspberry’s I had picked at Weaver’s Orchard on Friday. So I decided on some rustic apple raspberry tarts. They both turned out wonderfully and tasted delicious.

Rustic Apple Raspberry Tarts

filling as follows…

    • 6 Golden Delicious apples peeled and sliced thinly
    • 1/2 cup of granulated sugar
    • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
    • 1/4 teaspoon Nutmeg
    • 3 Tablespoons of flour
Mix filling ingredients together in a large bowl until well combined. Place in a large microwave dish or container and heat on high for 5-7 minutes. This is a trick I learned from my mother-in-law Ida Jacobyansky. The microwave helps cook the apples so it doesn’t take as long in the oven. Your apples will always be softer rather than harder after baking in the oven.
crust…(8-9 inch two crusted pie)
    • 2 cups of flour
    • 1 teaspoon salt
    • 2/3 plus 2 Tablespoons of Crisco (put in freezer to get chilled wrapped in plastic wrap and flattened)
Combine flour and salt in large bowl. Take Crisco out of freezer and break apart into flour mixture. Using a pastry blender, work the Crisco into the flour mixture until small balls or crumbles of dough begin to form. Add one tablespoon of cold water at a time and cut into flour mixture with a large fork. Continue to add a tablespoon of water one at a time until dough sticks nicely together. Chill dough for 10-15 minutes in the refrigerator.
Cut dough in half and roll out into two 9-10 inch circles. Place dough circle on baking sheet. Add about 1 teaspoon of flour to bottom of dough (another trick Ida taught me…flour helps absorb the juices so the tart or pie is not to runny). Spoon half of the apples onto the middle of the circle and add a handful of fresh raspberries on top of the apples. Fold crust in on sides leaving an opening on top. Sprinkle with granulated sugar. Repeat a second time for other tart.
Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes until fruit bubbles.

Beautiful!

 Happy graceful living!
